Sacramento Airport parking (SMF): lots and prices compared

Official Sacramento International Airport parking in one place — what each option costs for your trip, how you get to the terminal, and where it's covered. Prices come from the airport's own website.

Prices checked October 14, 2026

Price change ahead: Announced on 17 Sep 2026: when the new Garage 2 opens (later in 2026), daily maximums go from $12 to $14 (Economy), $14 to $19 (Daily Lot) and $21 to $28 (garage parking). No further rise in 2027; from 1 Jan 2028 rates go up $1 a year through 2031. No exact date has been announced.

Lowest SMF parking prices from fixed posted rates, checked October 14, 2026:

$12 1 day · South Economy Lot
$36 3 days · South Economy Lot
$84 7 days · South Economy Lot

What parking costs for your dates

Enter when you drop the car off and pick it up. The calculator estimates the cost from each lot's posted rates — hourly steps, daily maximum and weekly cap where there is one.

Your stay: 3 days 10 h. Estimated from each lot's posted rates, cheapest first; the amount charged at the exit can differ.

  1. 1South Economy LotOfficial Sacramento International AirportLowest$48[1][2]
  2. 2East Economy LotOfficial Sacramento International Airport$48[1][2]
  3. 3West Economy LotOfficial Sacramento International Airport Closed when we checked$48[1][2]
  4. 4Daily LotOfficial Sacramento International Airport$56[1][2]
  5. 5Garage 1Official Sacramento International Airport$84[1][2]
  1. Stays over 24 hours: each full 24 hours at the daily maximum; the extra hours at the short-stay rate until they reach the daily maximum (the airport does not spell out how it charges the extra hours).
  2. The airport has announced higher daily maximums when Garage 2 opens later in 2026, with no exact date yet: Economy $14, Daily Lot $19, garage $28. This estimate uses today's rates.

SMF parking options compared

Cost for exactly 1, 3 and 7 days (24-hour periods) from the posted rates. The lowest price in each column is highlighted.

SMF parking options and cost by length of stay
Parking Cover To terminal 1 day3 days7 days
Garage 1 Official Garage Covered Walk to terminal $21$63$147
Daily Lot Official Daily Not stated Shuttle to terminal $14$42$98
South Economy Lot Official Economy Not stated Shuttle to terminal $12$36$84
East Economy Lot Official Economy Not stated Shuttle to terminal $12$36$84
West Economy Lot Official Economy Closed when we checked Not stated Shuttle to terminal $12$36$84

Official Sacramento Airport parking

The cost by length of stay: Sacramento airport parking garage · Sacramento airport economy parking

Garage 1

Official Sacramento International Airport

  • Up to 30 min: $2
  • Each additional 30 min: $2 (up to 3 h 30 min)
  • Over 3 h 30 min: the full daily maximum, $21 per 24 hours

$2 for each 30 minutes or part of it until the stay passes 3½ hours; after that the full $21 daily maximum is charged for each 24-hour period, so a stay of more than 3½ hours (up to 24 hours) costs $21. The airport has announced garage parking will rise to $28 a day when Garage 2 opens later in 2026.

Type
Garage
Cover
Covered
To terminal
Walk to terminal — Covered garage for both terminals with pedestrian bridges on the 3rd floor (Terminal A) and 5th floor (Terminal B); no shuttle inside the garage
Height limit
8 ft 2 in
Payment
Credit or debit card (Visa, AMEX, MasterCard, Discover) when leaving; cash only at pay-on-foot kiosks in Garage 1 and outside Door 1 at Terminal B
EV charging
Free charging stations near the Terminal A and Terminal B elevators; normal parking fee applies
Accessible parking
Designated spaces for vehicles with a disabled plate or placard, at the posted rate
Reservations
not offered

Covered · Walk to both terminals · Free EV charging · 8 ft 2 in clearance

Source: Parking; SMF Parking Rate Changes Support New Garage and Customer Improvements, checked October 14, 2026.

Daily Lot

Official Sacramento International Airport

  • Up to 30 min: $2
  • Each additional 30 min: $2 (up to 2 h 30 min)
  • Over 2 h 30 min: the full daily maximum, $14 per 24 hours

$2 for each 30 minutes or part of it until the stay passes 2½ hours; after that the full $14 daily maximum is charged for each 24-hour period. Vehicles longer than 21 ft pay double. The airport has announced the Daily Lot will rise to $19 a day when Garage 2 opens later in 2026.

Type
Daily
To terminal
Shuttle to terminal — Lot before the garage entrance on Airport Boulevard, with a free shuttle to both terminals (shown as "Daily A" on the airport's live availability board)
Shuttle
every 15–20 minutes, 24 hours
Payment
Credit or debit card (Visa, AMEX, MasterCard, Discover) when leaving; cash only at pay-on-foot kiosks in Garage 1 and outside Door 1 at Terminal B
EV charging
Four Level 2 chargers and one paddle charger; charging is free, normal parking fee applies
Accessible parking
Designated spaces for vehicles with a disabled plate or placard, at the posted rate; shuttle buses are lift-equipped
Reservations
not offered

Free shuttle · Free EV charging

Source: Parking; SMF Parking Rate Changes Support New Garage and Customer Improvements, checked October 14, 2026.

South Economy Lot

Official Sacramento International Airport

  • Up to 30 min: $2
  • Each additional 30 min: $2 (up to 2 hours)
  • Over 2 hours: the full daily maximum, $12 per 24 hours

$2 for each 30 minutes or part of it until the stay passes 2 hours; after that the full $12 daily maximum is charged for each 24-hour period. The airport has announced Economy will rise to $14 a day when Garage 2 opens later in 2026.

Type
Economy
To terminal
Shuttle to terminal — South of the airport roadway system; shuttle only, no pedestrian walkway to the terminals; the airport says to allow up to 60 minutes from parking to the terminal
Shuttle
every 25–30 minutes, 24 hours
Payment
Credit or debit card (Visa, AMEX, MasterCard, Discover) when leaving; cash only at pay-on-foot kiosks in Garage 1 and outside Door 1 at Terminal B
EV charging
Not available
Accessible parking
Designated spaces for vehicles with a disabled plate or placard, at the posted rate; shuttle buses are lift-equipped
Reservations
not offered

Free shuttle · Most affordable official option

Source: Parking; SMF Parking Rate Changes Support New Garage and Customer Improvements, checked October 14, 2026.

East Economy Lot

Official Sacramento International Airport

  • Up to 30 min: $2
  • Each additional 30 min: $2 (up to 2 hours)
  • Over 2 hours: the full daily maximum, $12 per 24 hours

$2 for each 30 minutes or part of it until the stay passes 2 hours; after that the full $12 daily maximum is charged for each 24-hour period. The airport has announced Economy will rise to $14 a day when Garage 2 opens later in 2026.

Type
Economy
To terminal
Shuttle to terminal — East of the terminals near Airport Boulevard; shuttle only, no pedestrian walkway to the terminals; the airport says to allow up to 60 minutes from parking to the terminal
Shuttle
every 25–30 minutes, 24 hours
Payment
Credit or debit card (Visa, AMEX, MasterCard, Discover) when leaving; cash only at pay-on-foot kiosks in Garage 1 and outside Door 1 at Terminal B
EV charging
Not available
Accessible parking
Designated spaces for vehicles with a disabled plate or placard, at the posted rate; shuttle buses are lift-equipped
Reservations
not offered

Free shuttle · Most affordable official option

Source: Parking; SMF Parking Rate Changes Support New Garage and Customer Improvements, checked October 14, 2026.

West Economy Lot

Official Sacramento International Airport

Closed when we checked The airport's live parking board showed this lot as closed when we checked on October 14, 2026. SMF lots can fill and close without notice, so check the board before you go.

  • Up to 30 min: $2
  • Each additional 30 min: $2 (up to 2 hours)
  • Over 2 hours: the full daily maximum, $12 per 24 hours

$2 for each 30 minutes or part of it until the stay passes 2 hours; after that the full $12 daily maximum is charged for each 24-hour period. The airport has announced Economy will rise to $14 a day when Garage 2 opens later in 2026.

Type
Economy
To terminal
Shuttle to terminal — West of the terminals along Airport Boulevard; shuttle only, no pedestrian walkway to the terminals; the airport says to allow up to 60 minutes from parking to the terminal
Shuttle
every 25–30 minutes, 24 hours
Payment
Credit or debit card (Visa, AMEX, MasterCard, Discover) when leaving; cash only at pay-on-foot kiosks in Garage 1 and outside Door 1 at Terminal B
EV charging
Not available
Accessible parking
Designated spaces for vehicles with a disabled plate or placard, at the posted rate; shuttle buses are lift-equipped
Reservations
not offered

Free shuttle · Most affordable official option

Source: Parking; SMF Parking Rate Changes Support New Garage and Customer Improvements, checked October 14, 2026.

Free Waiting Area

Near the Interstate 5 entrance/exit, with access to both terminals; the airport also calls it the Cell Phone Lot. Free; 3-hour limit; vehicles must be attended at all times. Portable restrooms, free Wi-Fi, paid EV charging (DC fast and Level 2).

SMF cell phone lot: location, rules and the cost of meeting inside →

Rental car return at Sacramento Airport

The rental car terminal on airport property, where all on-airport rental companies are located. Return the car at the rental car terminal (the airport says you can drop it off as early as 4:00 a.m.), then take the free rental car shuttle: it runs 24 hours, about every 10 minutes, and each shuttle is assigned to one terminal, so check the sign. Allow 25–35 minutes to reach your terminal; waits can be longer 4–10 a.m. and 8 p.m.–midnight.

Companies listed by the airport: Alamo, Avis, Budget, Dollar Rent a Car, Enterprise, Hertz, National, Payless Car Rental, Thrifty, Zipcar.

SMF rental car return: where to go and getting to the terminal →

Good to know

SMF parking questions

How much is parking at Sacramento Airport per day?

The airport's posted daily maximums: $12 at South Economy Lot, East Economy Lot and West Economy Lot; $14 at Daily Lot; $21 at Garage 1. Shorter stays cost less at lots with hourly rates. Prices were checked on the airport's own website; taxes or fees are mentioned separately where the airport lists them.

What is the cheapest long-term parking at Sacramento Airport?

For a 7-day trip, the lowest fixed posted rate we found is $84 at South Economy Lot.

Is there covered parking at Sacramento Airport?

Yes: Garage 1. For 3 days: Garage 1 $63.

What is the height limit in Sacramento Airport parking?

Garage 1: 8 ft 2 in.

Where can I wait to pick someone up at Sacramento Airport?

Use the Free Waiting Area. Near the Interstate 5 entrance/exit, with access to both terminals; the airport also calls it the Cell Phone Lot. Free; 3-hour limit; vehicles must be attended at all times.

Where do I return a rental car at Sacramento Airport?

The rental car terminal on airport property, where all on-airport rental companies are located. Return the car at the rental car terminal (the airport says you can drop it off as early as 4:00 a.m.), then take the free rental car shuttle: it runs 24 hours, about every 10 minutes, and each shuttle is assigned to one terminal, so check the sign. Allow 25–35 minutes to reach your terminal; waits can be longer 4–10 a.m. and 8 p.m.–midnight.

Are Sacramento Airport parking prices going up?

Announced on 17 Sep 2026: when the new Garage 2 opens (later in 2026), daily maximums go from $12 to $14 (Economy), $14 to $19 (Daily Lot) and $21 to $28 (garage parking). No further rise in 2027; from 1 Jan 2028 rates go up $1 a year through 2031. No exact date has been announced.

Can I reserve parking at Sacramento Airport?

Parking cannot be reserved today: every lot is first-come, first-served. The airport plans to start parking reservations in 2027.

What happens when Sacramento Airport parking is full?

Lots can fill and close without notice, most often the garage and Economy. When Economy is full, drivers are sent to the Daily Lot and pay its rate. The airport's live board shows open spaces per lot; a lot may close when about 250 spaces are left.

Sources

Every price and rule on this page comes from these pages. If something has changed, tell us and we'll recheck. How we check prices.

  1. Sacramento International Airport (SMF) — Sacramento County Department of Airports. Checked October 14, 2026.
  2. Parking — Sacramento County Department of Airports. Checked October 14, 2026.
  3. SMF Parking Rate Changes Support New Garage and Customer Improvements — Sacramento County Department of Airports. Checked October 14, 2026.
  4. Maps (Parking) — Sacramento County Department of Airports. Checked October 14, 2026.
  5. Free Waiting Area — Sacramento County Department of Airports. Checked October 14, 2026.
  6. Rental Cars — Sacramento County Department of Airports. Checked October 14, 2026.
  7. Frequently Asked Questions — Sacramento County Department of Airports. Checked October 14, 2026.
  8. Shuttles & More — Sacramento County Department of Airports. Checked October 14, 2026.
  9. Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sacramento Airport Natomas — IHG Hotels & Resorts. Checked October 14, 2026.
  10. Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Airport Natomas — Marriott International. Checked October 14, 2026.

Other airports